Objects in Motion

This weekend, I watched my dear friend run her first marathon.

Well, she didn’t run it. SHE FLEW.

I stood bundled in three sweaters, a pom-pom topped hat, and a yellow raincoat, holding back the fluids that wanted to seep out of my nose. It was worth it.

It was beautiful, she was beautiful, as were all the people who were there, runners and runner-lovers.

I’ve been derailed from all my routines (exercise, writing, meditation) as a result of this small bout of illness and mini-weekend-getaway.

but, Tomorrow is a new day, and even though this one really wore on me, really tested my resolve, I’ll get out of bed when my alarm rings.

[the label on my alarm says “Best day ever!!!!! Get excited, kid!” —groan!]

 

 

Leave a Reply

