Hesitation, after all

Good morning, life.

Alarm set for 6am. Ten minutes spent deliberating whether the person I was yesterday was right to set my alarm and sign up for a 7am yoga class. Maybe the me of today was privy to something (the benefits of more than 8 hours of sleep, perhaps?)

But now it’s 6:33am and I’m showered and sipping on green tea and about to head out the door into a rainy, rainy, dark day. And now that I’ve written that, I’m rather excited…

***************

I wrote that last Sunday, a day which turned out to be very FULL.

Here I am, 6 days later, and I haven’t written a single word mainly because I’ve been busy/tired/lazy. Sigh.

Leonard Cohen’s new album “You Want it Darker” has been streaming on NPR and it’s everything one could ask for. I’m listening to it for the third time in a row.

POTENT.

****************

This week has been full of novel experiences. It’s good. It’s necessary. No need to be afraid, just to grow, onward, forward, out and in.

Examples of personal wins that involved changing that way I do/think about things:

-Running 1.5 miles spontaneously as soon as I woke up on Thursday (and not hating it!)

-Going rollerskating with a friend even though I wanted to back out because I was sleepy (I got a second wind and had fun)

-Talking to two friends that came to my yoga class about the mysteries of the universe for an HOUR after we enjoyed a great yoga practice together.

-Texting a few friends even though I usually feel too tired and shy to reach out to people out of nowhere.

-About to head out on an adventure of sorts with someone I barely know.

Today is going to be another one of those days where my preconceptions will be challenged and hopefully shattered.

I will report on what happens tonight at some point tomorrow. Hopefully my thoughts are more coherent by then…

Leave a Reply

